Montgomery County Civic Federation, Inc.


The Sentinel Award

For a Significant Contribution to Good Government at the Local Level

This award, sponsored by the Montgomery Sentinel newspaper, is given annually by the Civic Federation to an individual or group, typically outside government, for a “significant contribution to good government at the local level.”

At our 2008 Annual Awards Banquet, the Civic Federation presented Bernard and Lynn Kapiloff, Publisher and Chief Executive Officer of the Montgomery Sentinel, with Honorary Membership in the MCCF “in appreciation for their support of the Federation and the civic community.”

Recipients of The Sentinel Award

Read the June issues of the Civic Federation News to see further descriptions of the winners for those years.

Year Recipient
2021 The Thrive Montgomery 2020 Neighborhood Coalition and the Citizens Coordinating Committee on Friendship Heights
2020Lynn Kapiloff and Family, The Sentinel News
2019Kristy Daphnis
2018Term Limits Ballot Committee
2017Coalition of Bethesda Area Residents
2016Stop Costco Gas Station Coalition and Kensington Heights Civic Association
2015Young Activist Club
2014Lyda Astrove
2013Montgomery County Taxpayers League
2012Zoning Advisory Panel Community Representatives (Patricia Baptiste, Diana Conway, Julie Davis, Martin Klauber, Leslie Marks, Kimblyn Persaud, and Jane Seigler)
2011Organizational Reform Commission
2010Montgomery Preservation Inc.
2009The Stormwater Partners Network
2008Citizens Coordinating Committee on Friendship Heights
2007Common Cause Maryland (Bobbie Walton and members of the Board)
2006Clarksburg Town Center Advisory Committee (Amy Presley, Kim Shiley, Carol Smith, Lynn Fantle, Tim DeArros, & Kathie Hulley)
2005Dale Tibbitts, Legislation Chair and Chair of the Ad Hoc Committee on Question C
2004Martha Waddy, President, New Hampshire Estates Civic Association; Secretary of Weed & Seed Program
2003Neighbors for a Better Montgomery
2002Jim Johnson
2001John Parrish
2000Sharon Constantine
1999Connecticut Avenue-Greenwood Knolls Civic Association
1998Ginny Barnes
1997Coalition for a Democratic Maryland
1996Charles Wolff & William Moody
1995Montgomery InterCounty Connector Coalition
1994Lewis Helm
1993Twin Lakes Coalition
1992Montgomery County Waste Prevention Coalition
1991Greater Bethesda-Chevy Chase Coalition
1990Sugarloaf Citizens’ Association
1989Citizens’ Referendum on Over-Development